Book Club Update

We are fast approaching our first book club meeting and discussion. As of today, if you are reading 10 pages per day, you ought to be getting close to page 300 if you want to be finished by the time of the discussion.

I have heard some of you didn’t receive your books from Amazon in a timely manner. Don’t let that stop you from joining the discussion. Even if you haven’t finished you will still take a lot out of the discussion.

If you would like to leave a comment prior to the discussion – post to the original announcement page comments.

Start Time Change

Please note that there is a change in start time. When I set up the meeting, I forgot about the change from daylight savings time, which doesn’t affect Arizona, but puts us an hour early relative to the rest of you. The new start time will be 6:00 p.m. Eastern, 5:00 p.m. Central. 4:00 p.m. Mountain (and AZ), and 3:00 p.m. Pacific. I will be sure and put out plenty of notice in the days immediately leading up to the meeting to remind you of the start time.

I have us scheduled for an hour, but we will stay flexible on the time depending on the discussion.

Discussion Leaders Needed

I would like to ask for volunteers to do a little research, give a brief statement on, and lead discussion around the following topics:

  1. Background on the author, Andrew Graham-Dixon.
  2. The Catholic Church’s art patronage circa 1600.
  3. The sociopolitical environment and economy of Rome during Caravaggio’s life.
  4. Symbolism in religious and non-religious art.
  5. Caravaggio’s contemporaries.

Volunteers should have a microphone attached to their computer so they can participate audibly in the discussion (an alternative would be to call in via telephone during the broadcast). We will have a brief practice session to make sure your microphone is configured correctly. I am looking for a 2-3 minute talk, so you won’t need to do extensive research – many of these topics were covered right in Graham-Dixon’s text. Please email me if you would like to volunteer, and let me know your preferred topic. If you think of another topic you would like to present on, let me know!

Audio Essays by Andrew Graham-Dixon on Caravaggio

Check out AGD’s website for several audio clips on Caravaggio. Great little primers. http://www.andrewgrahamdixon.com/broadcast/audios/198 – be sure and note that there are additional recordings on the right side.

Haven’t Ordered the Book Yet?

It might not be too late if you are a fast reader, or if you want to wait to read the book until after our discussion. You can pick up the book at your local bookstore or from Amazon.com:

Haven’t Registered for the Meeting Yet?

Registration is free:

Register Now


I am excited about the meeting and have been thoroughly enjoying the book. I look forward to hearing all of your thoughts.

Jason

 

 

Comments
  1. Susan Wakefield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *